OK and Apply buttons.We saw them when trying to modify some internal settings of the OS itself or an application which is installed in that OS.
The Difference
-
OKbuttonApplies the changes and closes the dialog.Or, goes back to the previous location / one level up. -
ApplybuttonApplies the changes, but keeps the dialog open, so user (we) can make further modifications.
Therefore, if we want to simply save the current changes we've made ➡️ hit the OK button.
ð No need to hit Apply button ➡️ simply hit the OK button.
ð Only once, hit the OK button. ✅
But, if we want to keep the dialog open, then hit the Apply button. It will perform a similar function to OK button without closing the dialog.
How about Cancel and Close (or X) buttons?
It depends on the pop-up dialog we're at.
They can have the exact similar purpose, that is to close the dialog.
Other case, such as in a document / text editing program or other editor software, if we haven't saved the changes we made in that program, and we try to close it (by hitting the X or Close button), it will then prompt a pop-up (reminder) window to:
- Save current changes then close the program.
- Discard changes then close the program.
In this reminder (or notification) dialog, we will also see the Cancel and the X (close) buttons. The Cancel and the X (close) buttons will have the same function, that is to close the pop-up reminder dialog, and go back to the program.
The reminder / notification / confirmation pop-up (and the buttons) is a fail-safe procedure in digital world.
